Colorado Cannabis Hospitality Training
Grow safely with us. Get started today!
In May 2019, the Colorado state legislature passed House Bill 19-1230 — also known as the Marijuana Hospitality Bill — which legalized marijuana hospitality establishments and the social consumption of marijuana in licensed retail facilities. Employees of these facilities, including owners and managers, are required to complete state-approved training.
Our 100% online Colorado Cannabis Hospitality Training course is state approved and designed for employees of licensed marijuana hospitality businesses. It educates new and existing employees on key regulations, safety, professionalism, communication and product knowledge. Becoming a responsible cannabis vendor is a state requirement that helps prevent unethical practices, such as selling to minors or intoxicated patrons.
Types of businesses that can earn a hospitality license include:
This 30-minute course is easy to navigate and can be completed 100% online. The course includes audio narration and an instant certificate download. You can even streamline your team's state-required training with a convenient course package that combines hospitality training with Colorado Cannabis Responsible Vendor Training.
Topics covered in cannabis hospitality training include:
Colorado Cannabis Hospitality Training includes six brief quizzes and a final exam. The quizzes are designed to help learners review course topics and can be retaken as many times as desired.
The course ends with a 20-question final exam that requires a minimum passing score of 70%. Learners have unlimited attempts to take the exam, so they're guaranteed to pass. The exam is untimed.
This course includes one learning module that covers hospitality topics required by Colorado MED. Explore a full overview of the course outline below.
Learning objectives include:
Hospitality training is required for employees who work in licensed marijuana hospitality businesses in Colorado, including salespersons, owners and managers. Individuals must be at least 21 years old to sell and handle cannabis products. Additionally, cannabis industry employees must complete Responsible Vendor Training within 90 days of starting employment.
Hospitality training is required for employees and owners of businesses licensed for on-site consumption, including:
Yes! You can purchase multiple courses at once to ensure employees, managers and owners are properly trained and compliant with state regulations. Fill out the form below to request a quote and learn more.
Social consumption of marijuana is legal in Colorado. House Bill 19-1230 legalized tasting room establishments and bring-your-own-cannabis establishments. Both types of businesses need to be properly licensed.
Local municipalities have the choice to ban social consumption lounges within their legal jurisdiction or create specific local licensing requirements. Businesses that wish to have a social consumption license cannot also hold a liquor license.
The two types of marijuana hospitality licenses include:
Yes. Colorado requires employees of licensed marijuana hospitality businesses to complete refresher training every two years. This course satisfies requirements for new employee training and refresher training.
Yes. For a comprehensive training experience, you can purchase Colorado Responsible Vendor Training + Hospitality, which includes both state-required courses. Enhance your team's knowledge of safe and responsible cannabis sales while meeting Colorado MED requirements for hospitality training.
Course certificates are available via instant download upon course completion.
Learn more about Colorado cannabis regulations, hospitality businesses and safe consumption.